

THE AMERICAN ACADEMY IN BERLIN HANS ARNHOLD CENTER

## Press Announcement

## Former U.S. Secretary of Defense James N. Mattis to Receive the 2021 Henry A. Kissinger Prize

BERLIN—November 10, 2021—The American Academy in Berlin will award the 2021 Henry A. Kissinger Prize to General James N. Mattis, former United States Secretary of Defense (2017-2019), Commander of the U.S. Central Command (2010-2013), and Commander of the U.S. Joint Forces Command (2007-2010). The award ceremony will take place on the evening of November 18, 2021, at the Deutsches Historisches Museum. Laudations will be delivered by Ursula von der Leyen, President of the European Commission, and Jens Stoltenberg, Secretary General of NATO. Henry Kissinger will deliver remarks by pre-recorded video. The Henry A. Kissinger Prize is generously supported by Bloomberg Philanthropies, Robert Bosch GmbH, and Cerberus Deutschland Beteiligungsberatung GmbH.

General Mattis has long shown an appreciation of strong international alliances in support of the transatlantic partnership. Guided by high moral principle and unwavering integrity, his values have found expression through his inspiring leadership in over four decades of military and public service. His steadfast support of NATO and disciplined strategic views in diplomatic, military, and political affairs have emphasized the bedrocks of democratic institutions and broadened collaboration. For these contributions and more, the American Academy in Berlin is proud to award General James N. Mattis with the 2021 Henry A. Kissinger Prize. The Academy thanks Eric Schmidt, Raytheon Technologies, and General Dynamics for making possible the establishment of the General James N. Mattis Distinguished Visitorship, to commence in fall 2022.

**The Henry A. Kissinger Prize** was established to honor the eponymous founding chairman of the American Academy in Berlin. Former U.S. secretary of state Kissinger's initiatives to create and sustain a stable East-West relationship helped to lay the foundation for change in Europe, the end of the Cold War, and the unification of Germany. Previous recipients of the prize are: former German chancellor Helmut Schmidt (2007); forty-first president of the United States George H.W. Bush (2008); former president of the Federal Republic of Germany Richard von Weizsäcker (2009); businessman and philanthropist Michael R. Bloomberg (2010); former German chancellor Helmut Kohl (2011); former U.S. secretary of state George P. Shultz (2012); Munich Security Conference founder Ewald-Heinrich von Kleist (posthumous, 2013); former U.S. secretary of state James A. Baker, III (2014); former president of Italy Giorgio Napolitano and former German foreign minister Hans-Dietrich Genscher (2015); former U.S. ambassador to the United Nations Samantha Power (2016); former German minister of finance Wolfgang Schäuble (2018); U.S. senator John McCain (2018), and German chancellor Angela Merkel (2020).

Press Contact: Denise Gamon, Communications Coordinator Phone: +49 (0)30-80483-142 Email: dg@americanacademy.de